… combined with exceptional service

what does i-cert do?


Certification of a Management System means that a third party verification has been conducted to establish that a Management System complies with the requirements of a specified standard.

ISO 9001, 14001, 45001, 50001

ISO 9001: 2015 Quality management systems — Requirements
The ISO 9000 family of standards is related to quality management systems and designed to help organizations ensure that they meet the needs of customers and other stakeholders, while meeting statutory and regulatory requirements related to the product. ISO 9000 deals with the fundamentals of quality management systems including the eight management principles on which the family of standards is based.

ISO 14001: 2015 sets out the criteria for an environmental management system. It does not state requirements for environmental performance, but maps out a framework that a company or organization can follow to set up an effective environmental management system. Using ISO 14001 can provide assurance to company management and employees as well as external stakeholders that environmental impact is being measured and improved.
The main aim of ISO 14001:2015 is to assist companies in continually improving their environmental performance.

ISO 45001 is a risk based Management System Standard for occupational health and safety management systems. The purpose of this standard is to help all kinds of organizations put in place and demonstrate sound occupational health and safety performance. This standard was published in March 2018 and will replace OHSAS 18001.

ISO 50001 specifies the requirements for establishing, implementing, maintaining and improving an energy management system, the purpose is to enable an organization to follow a systematic approach in achieving continual improvement in energy performance, including energy efficiency, energy security, energy use and consumption. This standard aim is to help an organization continually reduce their energy use, and their energy costs.  *this is an unaccredited scheme



Identify the applicable ISO standard: The first step is to identify the ISO standard that your organization needs to conform to. ISO has developed standards for various disciplines such as quality management, environmental management, health and safety management, energy management, etc.


Develop an ISO management system: Develop a management system that conforms with the requirements of the applicable ISO standard. This includes policies, procedures, and processes that demonstrate how your organization meets the ISO standard.


Implement the ISO management system: Implement the ISO management system throughout your organization. This involves the training of your employees on the ISO standard requirements and the policies, procedures and processes that have been established.


Validate implementation: This verifies and checks your ISO management system to identify any areas of concern or for improvement. This is done by conducting an internal audit of your management system.


Corrective actions/ Improvement: Take corrective actions to address any areas of concern or plans for improvement.


Certification audit: Appoint an accredited certification body to conduct a certification audit of your ISO management system. This audit will verify that your management system meets the ISO standard.


Receive ISO certification: A certificate is issues confirming your ISO management system meets the requirements of the ISO standard.


Surveillance audits: To maintain your ISO certification, you will need to undergo surveillance audits. These audits will ensure that your management system continues to meet the ISO standard requirements.


Accredited certification body: An accredited certification body is a third-party organization that has been independently evaluated and deemed competent by an accreditation body (like SANAS) to perform audits and issue ISO certifications. Accreditation bodies (SANAS) are recognized by international organizations such as the International Accreditation Forum (IAF) and undergo a rigorous evaluation process to ensure they meet certain standards.

Non-accredited certification body: A non-accredited certification body is not independently evaluated and recognized by an accreditation body, and their certifications may not carry the same level of credibility or recognition as those issued by an accredited certification body.

Choosing an accredited certification body ensures that the certification process is being carried out by a competent and impartial organization that has been assessed against international standards. It provides assurance that the certification is reliable and meets international requirements.


What is ISO Certification?

ISO certification is a process by which an organization receives an internationally recognized certification for meeting specific standards and requirements for respective ISO standard implemented.

What are the different types of ISO certifications?

There are many different types of ISO certifications, each focused on a specific area of management, such as ISO 9001 for quality management, ISO 14001 for environmental management, and ISO 45001 for health and safety management, ISO 50001 for energy management.

How can an organization become ISO certified?

To become ISO certified, an organization must first identify the relevant ISO standard, then develop and implement a system that meets the requirements of that standard. The organization will then need to undergo an audit by an accredited certification body to verify that it is compliant with the standard implemented.

What is the ISO certification process?

The ISO certification process involves several stages. This includes developing and implementing a management system, selecting an accredited certification body, undergoing an external audit, and receiving the ISO certificate

How long does it take to become ISO certified?

This will vary depending on the size and complexity of the organization, as well as the type of ISO certification sought. It can take anywhere from several months to over a year to complete the process.

How long does an ISO certification remain valid?

ISO certifications are valid for three years, only if the surveillance audits are conducted as needed, after which the organization will need to undergo a recertification audit to maintain its certification.

What happens if an organization fails to meet ISO standards during an audit?

If an organization fails to meet ISO standard requirements during an audit, a nonconformity will be raised. It will need to address the nonconformities identified and undergo a nonconformity clearance process to verify that the issues have been resolved before it can receive or maintain its certification.